Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

20080524_Beachside_Beds17
Of all the pictures I took this was my favorite. It truly shows how relaxed and carefree we all felt during our time at the resort. Also, children are naturally carefree.

In the summer of 2008 when my daughter was just 6, we took a family vacation to visit my aunt and uncle in Santo Domingo, the capital of the Dominican Republic. After a week in the city with family, I spontaneously booked a trip to the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace, an all-inclusive resort several miles to the east of the capital in the city of La Romana. I wanted to relax and do nothing.

We enjoyed the never-ending food, drinks, and outdoor activities that the resort had to offer without a worry in the world. This was my first time at an all-inclusive resort and I was getting quite used to it! It was here that I first discovered archery. Aside from all the activities, there’s the beach itself where one can simply take a swim, go snorkeling, scuba-diving, paddle boarding or just read a good book in the sun. We opted to lie on one of the many beachside beds available and enjoy the views.

I like traveling and playing the tourist, visiting museums, learning about new places and exploring what a location has to offer. But on this particular trip, it was great to put down the camera (most of the time) and enjoy a true vacation completely carefree with no worries of my life back home.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

    1. I would agree with you 100% but here in the states we’re overworked so any time I can get doing nothing, reading a book or shooting arrows is fine by me!

Would LOVE to read your comments but please forgive me if I'm unable to respond at times...